AP courses question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ash914

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a rising sophomore neuroscience major and I was trying to figure out whether to retake some of my AP courses. I got 4's in calc and physics and 5's in bio and chem, but on my transcript they all appear just as "credit accepted." Since I got a 4 in calc I already retook that, and I'm currently registered to retake physics (figured I could use the help for the MCAT). I've already accepted the chem credit, as I took orgo freshman year and did well, so I'll be taking biochem as an advanced course to fulfill the chem requirement most school ask for beyond just AP credit.

Now I'm trying to figure out whether to use my bio credit. If I don't I would have to wait until I've taken biochem and then take two more advanced courses. Looking at what I've got planned out, I wouldn't be able to take them until the semesters after applying to med school, and I don't think I should apply without any bio coursework beyond the neuro classes for my major. So now I have to decide if I want to sign up for gen bio for the coming semester. Even if I decide to do that, I would still list two bio courses on my med school apps for courses I intend to take in the year after I apply. My only worry is that it might look bad if I'm retaking so many courses that I already have credit for. Overall, my strength of schedule is pretty difficult, but I don't want to come off as taking the easy route by retaking all but one of my ap courses.

Sorry for the long-winded post/wall of text, and any help is really appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.