APPE Rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anon89

Hero of Hyrule
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm a 4th year pharmacy student at Albany College of Pharmacy (and health sciences -.-)

I was just wondering how APPE rotations worked? Like say I wanted to do a couple around the country, does anyone know from experience if the college finds you housing? Or if you have to pay more to do it somewhere else?

My APPEs are during my 6th year btw.

I know it's probably different for every college but I'm curious to know about how yours are and I figure they similar in some aspects :)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

My school has a limited number of out of state APPE rotations that the school set up. Housing is provided for some of them (by the rotation site) like IHS.

Out of state students (we have a lot who are from Cali) have set up some rotations for themselves in their home states. All transportation and housing costs are the responsibility of the students.

We can do 3 of our 8 rotations out of state, unless one of them is a "public health" or "service" rotation like IHS or military. Then, we can do 4/8 out of state.

Ohh ok so for your school then can set up some of them and then the rest you gotta set up on your own?

Is there anything have a certain amount in the state that you want to practice in after you graduate?

Members don't see this ad :)
Are IHS rotations difficult to get? I would really, really like to do one in AZ, NM or MN.

I don't think so. I think you just look at the site list and choose the sites you are interested in. Then you contact them and see if they can accomodate you and when they have space. One of my friends will be in NM with IHS next year. Then she's going to Alaska to Elmendorf AFB. I was going to do one of both of those but decided to stay in my immediate geographic area to minimize costs and maximize networking opportunities.