1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Applicant Advice

Discussion in 'Neurology' started by dog_lover, Apr 16, 2004.

1. dog_lover

dog_lover New Member

Hello,

I am looking for advice on where to apply for neuro residency programs. Let me rephrase that-- I am BEGGING for advice. The advice doesn't have to be nice or politically correct; it only has to be honest.

I've been reading the posts & still wonder where I stand as an applicant.

I read the post about neuro not being competitive if you're an MD from a US program. Does the same apply for DOs? (I'm a DO student.)

How important are grades in years 1 & 2? (Mine are okay: near-honors average overall, honors in everything in which I am interested.)

board scores? (My goal was to pass-- and I did.)

grades in years 3 & 4 (I have very strong evaluations.)

letters of rec? (I was told that I have a glowing Dean's Letter & excellent LORs.)

research experience? (I have a few neuroscience publications, poster presentations, and a master's degree-- but I'm not sure if that helps my case or not. In fact, I often wonder if I would have better grades & board scores if I weren't doing all of this...)

I'd appreciate any wisdom you have to share with me. And don't be afraid to be honest.

Thanks!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. blondarb

blondarb PGY-4 Neuro
    10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    I too am a DO student who was interested in neuro. I did not have much in the way of research other than some undergrad stuff and a little project on rib raising. I applied to about 12 programs and got interviews at 10. I was focussed regionally because my wife and I needed to match together (ah the joy of separate matches).