Application for 2012, Timeline help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tam099

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm a non-Traditional student who graduated with a Biology, B.S. nearly 5 years ago. I've recently discovered podiatry and I'm in love. I plan to submit my application to be considered for the 2012 school year. I need some help as to when I should submit the various things needed.

I've filled out the AACPMAS application but have not submitted it yet because I have 2 classes that are in-progress (Physiology and Calculus). I'm getting an A, B+ respectively and they will definitely boost my GPA. Should I wait till the end of December or submit ASAP?

Along that same line I have MCAT scores pending (scheduled to take them Jan. 28th).

I have 2 of my three rec letters accounted for (need one more science professor rec. but none of my former teachers are returning my calls. :( )

If you were in my situation, what would you do?

Members don't see this ad.

one more piece of info that might be relevant. The calculus class is a retake..(freshman year...D...you know how those days were)

congrats on finding podiatry! Have you shadowed a podiatrist yet? You should do it to 1. make certain this is what you want and 2. you are going to need an LOR. I submitted and believe the schools still were waiting on a science LOR and DPM LOR and I received interviews. Some schools will not invite you until you have an MCAT score, so it's up to you and probably depends on where you really think you want to go. I say this, because if you get accepted somewhere, they are going to want a deposit within 30 days to hold your seat (all or some of which will be non-refundable). If you really want to go to one of the schools that won't interview you until they have your MCAT scores, you may want to wait.