May 22, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
Hey all,

I will be reapplying this cycle and have some questions about my application. I applied in the last cycle and got my secondaries in very late. I was simply unfocused. I had somewhat serious surgery over the summer and after recovering I put my apps on the back burner as I looked for a job. Anyway, I graduated in spring 2009 with a 3.6 gpa and scored a 31 on the mcat. I was fairly involved with volunteerism in uni and did a summer program in which I took part in a human cadaver lab and shadowed in an OR at a fairly prestigious uni. I submitted six secondaries and did not receive one interview. I was quite surprised because the schools I applied to were low/mid-tier and I thought I would at least get an interview.

Now I am thinking about doing a one year master's in medical sciences program while also applying to medical school in the upcoming cycle. I am thinking about getting a master's degree because it would give me research exp and I feel it would prove to the med schools that I am able to handle the curriculum. So I would (assuming I gain entrance to the master's program) begin the program in Fall having already put my AMCAS in. My question is would the program be beneficial to my application given the timing of my application? Also, would the program be beneficial given my GPA is already fairly good? Does anyone have any alternative suggestions?

Thank you for reading through this post, I know it's long!

Feb 10, 2010
MD
Status
Pre-Medical
First, some questions:
What was the breakdown for your GPA--Science and cumulative?
What about your MCAT breakdown?

I think your volunteer experience and clinical exposure sounds good...about how many hours in the OR? Did any of the physicians you shadowed write a LOR for you?
What about your other LORs?