Apply now or gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kevlar22

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am currently a junior in undergrad with a cum. GPA of 3.66 and a science GPA of 3.62 at Cornell. I haven't taken my MCATs yet, as I'm starting to prepare for a May/June date. Some of my extra-curriculars include working on a research project at school, research project at Mount Sinai in NYC, volunteering at the free clinic near school for a semester, training to become a peer counselor,being a TA for Comparative Physiology, and being the philanthropy chair for my fraternity. Long story short, I missed the deadline to hand in the required materials to the pre-med committee, for them to write us a letter (since I was out of the country). The question is, should I attempt to apply this cycle or take a gap year? I'm trying to find justifications for doing a gap year, such as traveling and doing something like Doctors without borders or Americorps, since I don't have too much volunteering experience. In terms of LORs, I can get 2 good ones, however I don't think I can get a good LOR from the PI with whom I'm doing research at school, since I only worked in his lab for only a semester.

I'll be studying for the MCATs this semester along with taking 14 credits. I'm starting to question if I would be able to handle MCAT prep, classwork, research, and preparing my application. I'm aiming for a 38.

TLDR: Based on my GPA, extracurrics, (Even though i haven't taken the MCATs yet) should I appeal to the pre-health committee into letting me hand in my materials late or should I start considering a gap year? I feel like I don't really have a reason to take the gap year other than the large amounts of work. I feel like such a reason would make me look like a weak applicant. However I don't want to bite off more than I can chew and end up burning out and being a complete failure.