Medical Apply, post-bac, or SMP? Should I look into reinvention?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm currently studying for my MCAT and wanted to see if I should also be looking for postbac or SMP programs to apply, or if I should go ahead and apply this upcoming cycle. I was planning on applying to mostly DO schools, but I am now second-guessing myself after comparing my stats to others.

1. cGPA: 3.41; sGPA: 3.3
    1. My GPA started around 2.8 freshman year, and I brought it up to a ~3.5 each year to end up with a 3.4 The trend basically plateaus, and I'm not saying this as an excuse. I really did question why I wanted to go into medicine because of personal issues. My grandpa, who was the reason I was interested in healthcare, died because his Alzheimer's progressed to its terminal stage, and my cousins, who I was really close with in my youth, were killed by another family member. The latter event made me question why I wanted to work with people, but it's something I'm going to talk about in my personal statement.
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown: I haven't taken the MCAT. I am scheduling myself for a 4/30 test or an early May test. I'm hopeful that I will do well and possibly score in the 505-515 range, especially now that I have regular access to a psychiatrist to treat my ADHD.
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US): MD but I currently work in TX, and if I wanted to, I can apply for residency here.
  4. Ethnicity and/or race: ORM/Asian-American/Vietnamese
  5. Undergraduate institution or category: Small, liberal arts college known for grade deflation in the MD area
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)