Apply this cycle or wait until next year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

almost.dpt

Reaction score
I really want to apply during the 2022-23 cycle but after reading some threads on here, I feel like I’m not as qualified and I’m definitely behind in the application process. It seems like most people typically apply to 8 schools and I don’t know if I want to spend that much money if I’m not a competitive applicant and don’t have much of a chance :(
I graduated in June and I’m enrolled in Anatomy at a CC now and hope to take Physio next semester. My GPA is definitely on the lower side but I’ve tried to make up for it with my observation hours. I’d really appreciate another perspective on this based on my stats! I don’t know anyone else pursuing PT and I’ve felt so alone in this process, definitely grateful to have finally found such a supportive community :)

Major: Neuroscience, minor in Dance
cGPA: 3.03
pGPA: 3.26 (I think, I wasn’t sure how to calculate this)
GRE: haven’t taken it as some schools don’t require, willing to take it but limited time :/
Observation: 1000 hours in an outpatient orthopedic clinic as a PT tech, currently observing in an inpatient setting
Experience: clinical intern at pain management clinic, administrative work at a dental clinic (became familiar with insurance)
Extracurriculars: Dance Team, South Asian Federation (Public Relations, Vice President, President), Asian Pacific Student Council Representative, political activist work with two organizations, Technical Director for Culture Show, DJ Club, founded nonprofit organization based on dance fitness and hosted workshops at school + the community
LORs: 2 from PTs, 2 from advisors (hopefully)

Looking to apply to UCSF/SFSU, CSU Long Beach, CSU Sacramento, Samuel Merritt and WesternU

Members don't see this ad.