apply to med school or do an smp

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdhunger

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a senior in college and would like to know your opinion advice regarding the upcoming year and application cycle: I was either thinking of enrolling in a smp or med school right away but I'm worried b/c of my stats currently:

1st mcat: 24O (all 8's), GPA: 3.69 cumulative, 3.31 science
(my gpa does not include this year, my senior year).

I am planning to retake the mcat in april, and so far my practice tests are 28, 30, and 31. I have 2 years worth of clinical experience, volunteering, and 2 semesters worth research.

Do you think smp will help or should I just apply to med school right away? I'm worried schools won't admit me b/c they'd look at my science gpa and think I can't handle the course load. I'm also worried because I transferred from a cc, and my gpa was really high there but I've gotten B's in most of the med school prereq's that I did at my U.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think it would help if we knew which schools you would plan on applying to...

I plan to apply to the following md schools if I don't do smp:
U of MN med school (duluth and twin cities) (my state school)
UCSD (I lived in CA before coming to MN)
schools in Illinois b/c I have lots of relatives there.
other schools in the midwestern region.

Sorry it is not very specific, I have not looked at a school list yet to see where I would have a chance at.