Applying to DPT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NorwichCity

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All!

I was wondering if any of you have any advice for me as a potential DPT applicant.

I started as a Physician Assistant student, but decided that medicine was not for me, and after much contemplation, have decided to pursue DPT.

I have an undergraduate degree in Kinesiology with a 3.73 GPA. My grades in the major sciences are as follows:

A&P 1: A
A&P 2: A-
Bio 1: B+
Bio 2: B
Chem 1: A
Chem 2: B
Exercise Physiology: A-

My 2010 GRE is 79, 51, and 4.5 writing score.

I have work experience as an EMT (two years) and a varsity high school soccer coach (this past Fall).

I have begun to do shadowing with two physical therapists in two different locations. The only prerequisites I have left are an additional psychology course.

My questions are as follows:

1. How competitive am I? I am really hoping to apply in-state, but there's only one public program in my state.

2. Should I retake my GRE? My verbal scores are fairly low, and I feel I could definitely do better on another retake.

3. How many schools should I apply to? I understand that I will probably be having to wait a while to start at most schools, but would like to get a jump on things early.

Thanks for reading, and your responses!

Members don't see this ad.