Applying to med school after a longish break -- Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nolee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking to apply to med school again after about 3 years of being sorta AWOL. About a year after I graduated from college, my mom and I were involved in a car accident, where she sustained pretty bad residual injuries. In our family, my dad is disabled, and my mom was pretty much the only source of income. So I took up the slack and started working while she recuperated. (I have a sibling six years younger who was in HS--and now, starting college--so that was another large factor.) So a couple years passed, and my mom is finally somewhat better, so I'm resuming where I left off.

The problem is, will this look horrible?

I haven't done many ECs over the last 3 years just because I've been so busy. In terms of stats, I graduated PBK from a top ten school, had a 3.9 gpa, and had reasonable ECs, though I'm totally discombobulated now and not sure if anything's up to snuff. I mainly did a ton of research as an undergrad, and have two published journal studies. I didn't have a lot of clinical experience though, although I did work in Taiwan for half a year at a home for the mentally ill. Still have yet to take the MCAT. What should I do at this point -- other than taking the MCAT -- to buff up my resume again?

Any suggestions would be muchos appreciated! Thank you all so much in advance! ~

Members don't see this ad.