Are Ob/Gyns "c-section happy"?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Leukocyte

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Family Medicine intern, and I had one of the most horrific moments of my life this weekend. I was paged by L&D to deliver one of my patients. Everything was going fine, but the baby's head (ROA) just w'ont come out. I decided to use a vaccum. Baby's head finaly came out, and just as a smile was begining to form on my face, the baby's head started turning blue. Very blue. I was freaking out. Told the nurse to page the OB/GYN attending on call, in the mean time I did a episiotomy, and tried the McRobets, Rubin, Woods and Rev. Woods. Again, no luck. I told the mom to gently roll on her hands and knees, and finally I was able to put my finger in and deliver the posterior shoulder. The OB attending finaly came in (just before the baby came out), and told me "You were lucky this time, next time do a c-section". No good job. No pat on the back.

My FM attending told me I did the right thing by not rushing into a c-section. I am a little confused. Is my attending right, or are OB/GYNs in general "c-section happy".:confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Well I have often heard that nobody will ever sue you for doing a c section too soon but you will certanly get sued for not doing one or doing one too late.
If that kid had come out with neurological damage or shoulder dystocia it would have been an instant multi million dollar judgement. Oh and the kid and the parents have until he's 21 to sue you. So if little Johnny all of a sudden develops some neurological issue sometime in the future and the mom remembers that "the Dr that delivered you got you stuck and you turned all blue, I bet that's probably why you have seizures now" then it's litigation city.