Are some 4th year rotation sites closed to DO students?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Echinoidea

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I'm an incoming DO student for the class of 2008. Is it true that some teaching hospitals do not allow 4th year elective rotations by DO students? I seem to remember seeing this somewhere but I don't know if its hearsay or what. I know its a long way off, but I might like to do rotations at allopathic institutions where I would want to do a residency, specifically the SUNYs and other New York state hospitals for EM.
Thanks
Ech

Members don't see this ad.

I have heard this from some upper classmen on here, however when prompted for the names of the facilities they were unable to give more information. With that said, I am sure there are still some academic institutions out there that may be biased and shun DOs from doing rotations. But if this were true...are there DOs on staff there? Are there DOs with admitting privelages to these facilities? Are there DOs in their residency programs? Do they accept applications from DOs for their residency programs?

Seems to me that if they won't allow DO students to rotate through, then they would have to refuse the entire osteopathic community all the way up the ladder. I don't think a hospital would be able to turn away a capable DO student for an elective rotation without some sort of legal recourse.

I would say that many Allo institutions may not allow DO's for core rotations (med, surg, etc) since many places have barely enough room for their own students, but most all should allow students for elective rotations.

Casey

Members don't see this ad :)