Army, Navy, or AF?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vingt6

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
1) I am currently a first year medical student at a US Med School, and was considering HPSP... can anyone tell me what the difference would be between the three HPSP scholarships (aside from the obvious)?

2) Does each expect you to go to residency at one of their hospitals, and not a civilian program? If you want to go to a civilian program, does that extend your active duty obligation, etc?

3) If I am deadset on applying for a general surgery residency, and later on a trauma fellowship, what do you think about each of the three branches... for example, is it worth it to apply to AF HPSP with little expectation of combat trauma?

4) One last thing: How does it affect your active duty commitment if you're applying for a 5-yr residency (eg general surgery) as opposed to a 3-yr residency (eg EM)? Does it lengthen your obligation if you add on a fellowship to your residency?

I am a little confused about all of this (I think they do that on purpose at times) and would like some sound advice before signing anything... any responses would be greatly appreciated... Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Have you checked out the threads that answer these questions in the "stickies" area?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,

In the Navy and AF hospitals are there any animal labs to facilitate medical research. And if so are there also instruments and equipment such as -70 freezers and liquid nitrogen, centrifuges, spectrometers, and imagery tools. Microscopes that have decent quantitative recording capabilities?

I know that research is not heavy in the military. But I would like to continually work on small projects and I would like to know if there are core facilities that I would be able to utilize.

Also would there be opportunity to collaborate with civilian investigators?

Thanks