Ask a nontraditional medical student anything...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Helen Wheels

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student on my summer break before starting second year. Since I have some time, I thought I would offer to answer any questions those of you might have about medical school. I was going to post this in pre-osteo since I am an osteopathic student but then I thought that I might not be representative of a typical medical student since I am a bit older. I am 40 years old though I will state that I am single and have no children which is probably not typical of most nontrads my age. Hmmnn... I don't really fit in anywhere! Oh, well, here is the place to ask an over the hill medical student anything! :p

Members don't see this ad.

beef or chicken fajitas?

and no research this summer?

beef or chicken fajitas?

Could go either way, depending on my mood, but probably beef. :)

and no research this summer?

No, no research this summer.

I kind of regret this, but it didn't work out. :( My school has zero research opportunities. It's a DO school (there usually aren't lots of research opportunities compared to MD schools, esp MD schools affiliated with a large university). Plus, my school is a relatively new satellite campus so that doesn't help. I looked at some summer research opportunities that were not affiliated with my school but all of those started in May right after the semester ended. Unfortunately, I had to remediate a couple courses and I wasn't done with that until last week. Also, if i hadn't passed the first round of exams, remediation could have taken me several more weeks into July.