Ask an OMS resident anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

armorshell

One Man Freak Show
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Did this last year to avoid studying for a test and it went well, so let's do it again (for the same reason).

TO my OMS compadres, please feel free to jump in.

I'm a 2nd year OMS resident, ask me absolutely anything.

Members don't see this ad.

Did this last year to avoid studying for a test and it went well, so let's do it again (for the same reason).

TO my OMS compadres, please feel free to jump in.

I'm a 2nd year OMS resident, ask me absolutely anything.

How many hours a week do you work?

Are you only doing didactic work right now or are you (also) in the clinic?

Are you happy at your program?

What surprised you about OMS?

I've always wondered this...do you find medical school a lot easier than your peers because you taken similar pre-clinical classes?

What don't you like about being an OMS?

Where do you see yourself in 10 years. What do you plan on doing (scope of practice-wise), and how much money do you plan on making?

Members don't see this ad :)
How many hours a week do you work?

I'm in 3rd year medical school right now, so this varies by rotation. Generally less than 40 hours a week this year, comparatively easier than dental school.

Are you only doing didactic work right now or are you (also) in the clinic?

3rd year medical school is didactic and "clinical." I use the quotes because you don't really treat patients, it's more like "advanced shadowing."

Are you happy at your program?

Yes, though I'd be much happier if I were allowed to moonlight. I currently have no outlet to practice any dentistry and that just sucks.

What surprised you about OMS?