asking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dancote

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a premedical student with a family of 5 getting ready to apply to D.O. schools. I am wondering if it is possible today to be the kind of doctor I'd like to be. I am considering Managed Care, lack of time with the patients, insurance, etc. The type of doctor I dream of being is a family doctor who has time to listen to their patients and to understand what the root cause of their symptoms are. I want to work on healing and not just dealing with symptoms. I have shadowed with 5 family docs so far and it has been very disappointing to me. They were all very caring people but never HAVING the time to do much more than write prescriptions for the symptoms. Also, there is the problem of the insurance companies seeming to control everything that they can or can't do!
I'd also like to work with alternative treatments such as herbs and diet. I know that a lot of people, including my family, would like these options.

Should I be looking into Naturopathic doctoring? I don't want to be only using medications!

Anyway, is my dream still possible today? Should I be looking elsewhere for my career?

Dan Cote'

Members don't see this ad.