Aspiring Physician-Scientist (Advice & Insight Needed), pls)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

O.F. Hanson

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am currently a first-year undergrad who completed their first semester of college, but I am particularly curious about the timeline between applying to a PSTP/MSTP and graduating from/earning an MD/PhD degree. I wanted to know about how many years it takes to earn the dual degree (7-9 I suppose)?; what is the balance like between MD training versus PhD training?; what does an application even look like? -and the criteria?; what are graduating/degree requirements in a typical MSTP institution?; costs? (Probably a nightmare); what does funding look like?; etc. etc.

I am sure it is different for each institution, but a general perspective on an physician scientist training program would be very helpful! As you can tell, I am still naive about the whole process after undergrad, but i wanted to learn more. Resources would also be really helpful!

If it must be known, I am interested in applying to Duke’s PSTP Program and Vanderbilt’s MD/PhD Program. I wish to pursue genetic therapeutics and cancer research.

Thank-you in advanced!!

Members don't see this ad.

PSTP - residency (after you complete degrees - MD/PhD or MD) - residency stipend is ~60K/year, no tuition costs
MSTP - you obtain a MD and PhD. Your education tuition/fees are paid for, and you receive a stipend ~30 K/year

There are 53 MSTPs across the country. They are competitive but all are looking for the same, primarily training-grant eligible applicants (TGE - i.e.: US citizens or Permanent Residents) with high marks.
PM me and I will provide you with some additional links to orient you on what we are looking for as a community.

Reactions: 1 users
PSTP - residency (after you complete degrees - MD/PhD or MD) - residency stipend is ~60K/year, no tuition costs