Assistant Physician Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hello63

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I wasn't really sure which subtopic to address this under, but am hoping someone here might have some additional information.

For a little background, I graduated medical school this past May and chose not to pursue residency at that time due to my wife becoming very sick, though I am hoping to complete an IM residency program in the future. In the meantime, I am considering applying to become an Assistant Physician so that I can still practice medicine and have decent income until our situation changes. However, I know very little about this prospect and there isn't really much information online.

Some questions that I have are:
- Is Missouri the only state currently allowing for assistant physicians? I saw a few people mention Virginia and New York passing similar laws for "associate physicians" but could find no evidence of that from legitimate sources.
- What type of practice arrangement do/will assistant physicians usually have? I understand that they must work with or near their collaborating physician - but how does that actually work? Can APs work anywhere as long as it is within a certain distance of that person? How does one go about finding those positions?

Any helpful information or educated opinions greatly appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I wasn't really sure which subtopic to address this under, but am hoping someone here might have some additional information.