Aug 2022 DAT breakdown 23 AA/ 24 TS/ 23 PAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aanchal Dubey

Reaction score
Scores:
PAT 23
QR 24
RC 23
Biology 25
Gen Chem 22
Organic Chem 23
TS: 24
AA: 23
Background:
Currently a rising junior. Just finished orgo 2 before starting the summer to study. Have taken genetics, cell bio and bio 1&2.

Materials Used :
  1. DAT booster - I used the 8- week study guide there to study. It was hard to complete everything per day because of how condensed the booster notes were, but I made it through. I gave myself 3 months to study and took a day break every week (sometimes 2 days if I had stuff in the weekend) and I went out of the country (with limited wifi) for like 2 weeks so I didn’t do much studying then. I will say 3 weeks before the exam I did not feel confident at all, but I started studying at least 10 hours of uninterrupted work and that really helped my confidence and scores.
    1. Another thing about Booster was the price point compared to bootcamp. Booster has less videos for learning, it's more about review and practice. If you need to relearn the material, I would suggest bootcamp because they have a lot of videos to learn (they are extremely long though)
    2. Whatever you decide to do, stick with it. Have a schedule.
  2. Anki - STAY WITH THIS AS LONG AS POSSIBLE. Booster has the premade anki decks for orgo, bio, qr, and gen chem. USE IT and make sure to do all the cards for orgo, gen chem, and qr. It is very hard to get through all the biology cards since there are so many of them, but you should get through as many as possible.
  3. VIDEOS!! For concepts you do not understand, please please please look online for other videos to watch. Crash course and Khan academy are great resources.
  4. PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE- Do as many questions as you can. It is very important that you do and expose yourself to these concepts.