Australia vs Ireland for a Canadian Student in 2021

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

p_medschool

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok.. so there is a lot of information on this site and I have tried to wade through as much as I can but I'm seeing a lot of conflicting information. I am hoping a fresh thread might shed some light and give more current information.

So basically I am a Canadian student with an undergraduate degree, haven't gotten into Canada or US and am turning to international med schools. I want to know if there is any difference or advantage between Ireland and Australia. I have seen some saying that there is less support for international students in Ireland compared to Australia - is this true? I also have seen what I think is some saying that if you don't get back into Canada or the US you can't stay and practice in Ireland but you can in Australia is this true?

I have applied to the 5 year programs in Ireland for Fall 2021. What I want to know is, (if Australia is better) should I not go to Ireland in September and instead wait and go to Australia for a 4 year program starting in January 2022? Or is there no difference, and I should just go to Ireland in September if I get in?

I also want to mention, it doesn't matter to me if I match back into Canada or the US I am fine with either. But I am interested in Pathology or Dermatology. Any chance at all with these specialties? Any difference between Ireland and Australia in terms of specializing?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I have seen some saying that there is less support for international students in Ireland compared to Australia - is this true? I also have seen what I think is some saying that if you don't get back into Canada or the US you can't stay and practice in Ireland but you can in Australia is this true?