Author Order: 2nd vs. Last??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sophia88

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a medical student and the attending I am working on a review paper with just told me that he wants to be 1st author (although I wrote the paper). He said I can now either be 2nd or last...whichever I choose (there are only 3 authors total) I know conventionally PI's are last...and I really don't want to question the attending but I was wondering which position would be look best for me?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

The last is usually the PI, who receives the most credit. The first one is usually the one who has done the most work. If you have done the most work, I think you deserve to be the 1st author.

Why does your lab partner want to be the 1st one? Maybe having a little chat with him/her may help to figure this out.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi,

I am a medical student and the attending I am working on a review paper with just told me that he wants to be 1st author (although I wrote the paper). He said I can now either be 2nd or last...whichever I choose (there are only 3 authors total) I know conventionally PI's are last...and I really don't want to question the attending but I was wondering which position would be look best for me?

Thanks!!

Being co-first authors is an option as well, check with the journal that you will be publishing in.

this is a review paper though. does it really matter? :D

Hi,

Thanks!!

Last position is traditionally reserved for senior author. One cannot credibly be "senior author" on a paper where you are the most junior person involved, and it is a little disingenuous for your attending to leave the "choice" up to you.

If first author is out of the question, take second author.