Aventura Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Perfect Hair Day

Grapes of Wrath, Chocolate Ice Cream, Johnny Cash.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is anyone familiar with this program? I think it's newly accredited, not too much information on their website.
I'm an MD student in SoFla and would love to live & work in Aventura :)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Unsure of the residency but the hospital itself has a pretty bad reputation. It is HCA so my guess it is an EMCARE residency. I dont know how much that matters to most.

A friend of mine who is an attending in south florida doesn't have the best the things to say about HCA. When applying to residencies he explicitly told me to avoid HCA hospitals.

Members don't see this ad :)
I grew up in south Florida and all I remember is Aventura being the old person's hospital. Aventura has grown quite a bit since I was younger though. I have no idea what it's like now or anything about the residency. Are they just in one site?

I grew up there too. I know the area well. I know the hospital fairly well as one of my family members spent a fair bit of time there. I cant speak to the residency but I can speak to the fact that the reputation of the hospital should be seen as a negative and IMO an EMcare residency should also be seen as a concerning feature.

In the end, does the reputation of your residency matter that much if you're aiming to ultimately work in a community hospital? Board certification is a board certification, right?

anyone know anything about mt. sinai's emergency program in miami beach? Thanks

anyone know anything about mt. sinai's emergency program in miami beach? Thanks

I think they just got ACGME accreditation this year. Mostly DO's in the program. PD also holds a DO degree. MSMC is in a great location, SoFla is decent and Miami Beach is clutch.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile