Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Awkward situation

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by BlackScorpion, Apr 21, 2007.

1. BlackScorpion

BlackScorpion Member
    2+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Here's an awkward situation that occured at a party I attended recently. A CRNA with a Phd from a different field was introducing herself as a doctor. A group of physicians arrived at the party. The host introduced the CRNA PhD individual to the group.

"Here is Dr. ____, she works at _____"

An internist asks, "What specialty, are you in?"

"Anesthesia" The CRNA replies

"Oh, what med school did you go to?" asked another MD.

"Oh, I didn't go to med school" replied the CRNA

Look of confusion blankets the physician group.

"I'm a nurse anesthetist" confessed the CRNA

"Oh you're a nurse" said one of the engineers.

Awkward silence follows.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. zippy2u

zippy2u Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Don't concern yourself with minutiae--- is she a hottie and is she available. ---Zip

4. VentdependenT

VentdependenT You didnt build thaT
    Physician Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    I hope there was decent beer there and some bootie grinding beats.

5. Monty Python

Monty Python Icelandic (see avatar) doesn't translate well.
    10+ Year Member

1. Technically the CRNA/PhD should have introduced herself as a nurse anesthetist with an academic doctorate or something to that effect. Lawyers with a JD don't usually introduce themselves as Dr. Smith.

2. The CRNA/PhD should have followed long-established custom, which says doctorate salutations should be limited to academic settings.

3. Pride goes before the fall.

6. The_Sensei

The_Sensei Membership Revoked
    Removed

Attending Physician

The ONLY two questions I would have been contemplating.....

7. UTSouthwestern

UTSouthwestern 1K Member
    Moderator Emeritus 7+ Year Member