B.s. pre-req. for Pharmacy School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alchemist760

Alchemist_760
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. The names Michael, I'm currently a pharmacy tech student, and a FT college student here in San Diego California. I've pretty much came to the conclusion that i want to be a Pharmacist. However, after speaking with my counsler about a transfer to a UC or a pharmacy school, I was informed that a lot of the good pharmacy schools require a BS degree upon entry. Well...I want to be a pharmacist in either a drug store, or a hospital setting (I dont know the names for either) but im clueless as of what BS degree will help me in such a field. I've been looking into a degree in chemistry or perhaps even pharmacology or toxicology or even pharmaceutical science. But im still not sure. So, for the kind of position im looking for, can i get some feedback on what kind of degrees would be most helpful/relavent. Thanx.

-Michael

Members don't see this ad.

There is no required degree. You can major in anything that interests you. Just make sure you get all the pre reqs done. Now the two most common degrees are usually Biology and Chemistry. But rememver you don't have to major in either, you could major in anthropolgy if you would like.

There is no required degree. You can major in anything that interests you. Just make sure you get all the pre reqs done. Now the two most common degrees are usually Biology and Chemistry. But rememver you don't have to major in either, you could major in anthropolgy if you would like.

Correction: For some schools in CA it is required that you obtain your B.S before entering.

I know for sure that California Northstate now requires a B.S and so does Touro College of Pharmacy.

Members don't see this ad :)
Correction: For some schools in CA it is required that you obtain your B.S before entering.