Bachelors and Associate Degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lengluiii

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a nontraditional student who got kicked out of my first school with a 1.8 gpa...went to a community college and graduated with an associates and gpa of 3.8... I'm currently at a university and its my first term... I calculated my cumulative undergrad gpa and if I even had a 4.0 at this schoo, it would only bring me up to a 3.7.

I decided to do a secondary associates degree as a paramedic while obtaining my bachelors. I will be part time at the other school and finish them up during the next two summers and maybe take 1 or 2 classes per fall and spring session. If I complete another associates degree, it could boost my GPA up to 3.0 if I get all A's in this.

Is this a smart move?

Members don't see this ad.

Is your goal medical school? You're throwing a lot of GPA's around in your post. There's only one that matters...all of them averaged together.

Every course you complete from here on out has the same impact on your gpa, except for DO grade replacement. Additional upper level science courses (genetics, biochem, etc.) would be better than paramedic courses. Whether you pursue an additional associates degree is up to you, but if applying to medical school is your ultimate goal it may not be the best route to take. My opinion would be to complete the prerequisite courses as quickly as possible - without distraction - and obtain your bachelor's degree in the process. Get involved in volunteering and shadowing opportunities. Look for a part-time job that gives you additional clinical experience. There are many opportunities that don't require much additional training.

It looks like if you do well in your studies, you'll end up with a competitive overall and science gpa. That's great news...not everyone digs themselves out of such a shallow hole :)