Bad First Semester..(Re: Grades)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Emmet2301

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well this was the first semester of college for me and I have to say I did badly. My grades were as follows.

Intro Chem: C+
Calc 2: C
Intro to Engineering:B+
Intro to Comp Sci:A

Chem and Calc are really hard classes at my school. Chem I had a bad teacher. I don't exactly know what went wrong there. I studied enough for it and I understood the material. I was really really close to a B- in that class. Calc 2, I kind of understood the grade there.

I'm still undecided on my major. I want to do either Neuroscience or Engineering. Should I do Neuroscience to spare my gpa? I also seem to like Neuroscience better than Engineering, but I'd be happy with either one.

What should I do from here on out? Should I retake Calc 2 at a community college? Should I take Calc 3 to help my BCPM GPA?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm still undecided on my major. I want to do either Neuroscience or Engineering. Should I do Neuroscience to spare my gpa? I also seem to like Neuroscience better than Engineering, but I'd be happy with either one.

What should I do from here on out? Should I retake Calc 2 at a community college? Should I take Calc 3 to help my BCPM GPA?

Pick the major you'd enjoy the most, because you're most likely to do well in classes you like. It sounds like you should be in Neuroscience, and if you think your GPA will be better in the required classes, that's all to the better for a premed.