This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SQUAAA

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I had a really **** first year, and I really want to go into dental school and I really hope this doesn't **** me over in the future. Also I am a Canadian student, and I haven't gotten all of my grades from this part semester yet, so far I have gotten an A+, and an A- and I am predicting a B in Calc 2, and a C- in Physics 1. I did bad in Physics because I really didn't know how to study for it. With that being said, I am planning on retaking Physics this summer.

Semester 1: B+,B-,C+, C

If you can give me any advice that would be great

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I was in the same predicament as you when I started school. My grades were very low in my first semester, and I was discouraged. I think I remember posting a thread similar to this one on this very website when it happen lol. Anyways, just find studying habits that are more effective for you. With me, I found that going to the library was much more efficient than studying in my apartment around my distracting roommates. I think I now spend more time in the library than I do in my own apartment on a weekly basis. Also, if you're struggling, don't be scared of getting help! I found a tutoring place in my town that has done wonders for my grades; some schools even have free tutoring services they provide to their students.
Just remember that this isn't the end of your journey. After finishing my first semester with 2 C's, I finished my 3rd semester with a 4.0. You can still recover from this, just work hard at it.

I second the comment about reaching out to tutoring services. I used tutors extensively in college, and I ended up becoming a tutor myself for several of the courses I did well in.

Members don't see this ad :)