Bad grades on really old college transcript

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shibboleth1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks, first time posting here. Just joined and i'm excited to take advantage of this resource!

So i took classes about 16 years ago right after high school at the local community college, but i was young and stupid and entirely unfocused, as reflected by multiple F's and W's. I got nothing out of the experience, only passed a few classes and came away with a 1.24 from 72 units attempted. After that i became and EMT and then a paramedic, which i've been doing for about 10 yrs and i'm a completely different person. After deciding to become a dentist, i took classes at a different CC, and am working on my BS at a CSU getting mostly A's and B's. I have all my pre-reqs for dental school done and will get my BS in the spring, so i'm trying to get my application in now.

So i know that since i went to the first CC i'm supposed to report it on my AADSAS, even though those classes don't represent me at all. I don't really even consider that i went to college back then, but they're on my record. My question is, will all those old courses be included in my GPA, and if so, how could i possibly overcome that drag? Even straight A's wouldn't pull that up anywhere near minimum levels. I know i won't have much difficulty explaining the situation to someone if given the chance, i'm just wondering if i'll ever get that chance if those courses drag my GPA so low on paper. Any thoughts?

Edit: I should add that none of the courses from the first CC are transferrable so i won't be using them to fulfill any requirements. If they didn't want transcripts from all colleges i wouldn't even bother submitting them.

Members don't see this ad.

Do a masters. 1.24 gpa with 72 credits is irreversible damage.
(That's over halfway through a bachelors)

And they are 100% going to be calculated in.