Bad GRE score--what to do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PizzaButt

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a non-traditional applicant who just took the GRE. I didn't do well. I got a 660 verbal but only a 460 math. I have no idea what happened with the math. I have been studying for two months, I took a prep class, I did 4 practice test, as well as all the practice questions from the GRE web site. I did all the homework from my prep class. On my practice tests, I was getting in the mid to upper 500's on math, so I was expecting at least that.

Now I don't know what to do. My applications are all ready to go, and my first deadlines are Dec. 1. Some of my schools state that they won't consider anyone without at least a 1200. I don't even have that. What should I do? I don't have an advisor to help me, b/c I've been out of school for 10 years.

I can re-take the test in Dec., but will I be able to make any of my deadlines? Should I just forget about applying to the schools I was going to apply to for the Dec. 1 deadlines? And with all the studying I've already done, I am doubtful if I will be able to raise my score much, if any--I felt like I really maxed out on the studying. I knew all the concepts.

I don't know what to do with myself for another year and a half if I don't end up applying/getting in anywhere this year. I have a JD and am currently volunteering to gain experience with research--but I'm married and can't afford to keep volunteering for another year and a half. I was not a psych major. I took all my pre-reqs already this year.

Please help! I am very upset and have been crying about this all night. :(

Members don't see this ad.

Pizza, that's a really hard situation - I'm so sorry to hear how upset you are.