1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Bad resume' for P.A. programs?

Discussion in 'Clinicians [ RN / NP / PA ]' started by Dave W., Dec 10, 2005.

1. Dave W.

Dave W. New Member

Other Health Professions Student
    Hello first I think this is a really interesting forum and I hope to post more as the years to come approach. Here is my first question.

I do not have a standard background to get into a P.A. program and I am wondering if this is going to hurt me. Here's the short version of my background.

I am in the Navy, I am active duty and enlisted. I joined the Navy as an aircraft mechanic, I worked on F-18 hornets for six years, I did very well in that community, and basically I was advanced as fast as possible, and eventually given a once in a military career go anywhere do anything you want choice for orders. I am now a Navy survival/ instructor, I have been so for a little less than two years, and for a year and a half of that, I have been an EMT. The Navy sends certain instructors to EMT school because we tend to have a high number of injuries/near drownings with our students. I've found that I really enjoy the medical field and with certain changes going on in the Navy I will be separating at my nine year mark in the Navy.
    I will complete my bachelors degree this coming June (2006) but again it is nowhere near the medical field. My bachelors is From Embry-Riddle University with a major in Proffessional Aeronautics, and dual minors, aviation safety, and management. My GPA is pretty good, currently about a 3.6 and about where I would expect it to be upon my graduation.
    After I graduate I plan on taking anatomy and physiology classes at the local community college and applying to several P.A. programs.