dnomla

10+ Year Member
Nov 20, 2004
Status
Hello. I am a first year premed student. I have a 4.0 grade average in 21 credits, but I am not doing well this semester. I have gotten B's on everything in everyone of my 5 classes (18 hours).

I am studying more than I did first semester, and I am doing a lot worse. I know the stuff, but I am making errors when it comes time to take the tests.

Does anyone know how I can get back on track?

I really dislike school. Could my brain just be wearing down from a semester of hating life? I am trying to decide whether I should study more, or if I should just relax and try to enjoy life more.

I dont have any friends because I have unrealistic expectations of others and the world in general; I am too stuborn to hang out with people I dont respect and enjoy being around. I enjoyed the isolation for a while, but I am starting to wonder if it is decreasing my scholastic aptitude.

My other theory is that I no longer really care enough. I dont get nervous at all before tests like I did in the begining of my first semester. Maybe I am subconsciously realizing that it does not really matter, but I consciously still care a lot.

My third theory is that my switch from eye glasses to contact lenses has decreased my testing skills. Last semester I wore glasses (with small round lenses) during the week and saved my contacts for when I was doing things like swimming. I always thought that the glasses helped on tests because when wearing them I have very little perepherial vision due to the small lense size, so I was forced to focus on and only on the test.

I cant even type this post correctly. I keep typing stupid stuff like "know" when I mean "no".

I apologize if this is the wrong forum to post this type of thing, but I enjoy complaining about my life on the internet.