Barash vs. M&M

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cognitus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year resident who already has Baby Miller. I'm looking for just one more larger reference text. Is M&M ok or is it just another intro textbook like Baby Miller? I looked through some samples in my library and thought it was pretty comprehensive, especially when looking up Halls questions. Would I be missing out by NOT getting Barash?

Members don't see this ad.

No, definitely not as a CA-1. Once you exhaust M&M (which is one the most beautifully written anesthesia books), then you can move on to Barash or another reference textbook. At least that's what I did.

Last edited by a moderator:
M&M is worth reading after Baby Miller. It's "readable" in that normal people can sit down and open up M&M and read it. Barash and Big Miller are more reference materials. I guess some people sit down and read the big books but I'm not one of those people and I don't personally know anyone who says he is.

When I started my written board prep in earnest, I would do questions (mostly Hall and the ABA's released old exam questions) and look up references for each one in Big Miller. I never sat down and read a chapter of Big Miller, though I've spent more time reading Big Miller than I have M&M. But I've never been a sit down and read kind of learner, if there's no directed focus to what I'm looking up and reading (like a board question) I don't retain things well.