Baylor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

azzarah

sleepy!
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I *loved* Baylor....What do you guys think of the whole methodist situation....Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I *loved* Baylor....What do you guys think of the whole methodist situation....Any thoughts?

As a baylor med student, i really think it's a non-issue. Baylor faculty all have very strong ties with methodist. Methodist isn't currently planning on starting up any ophthalmology residency anytime soon. Maybe in a few years.. but not presently. Also, the new eye institute building is a definite go ahead with a completion build time during the middle of our 1st year. The program has plenty of donors (good ole Houston oil money) for a state of the art eye institute. The timing will be great for those matching this year, because you don't rotate on privates really until your 2nd year. 1st year is mostly all county and VA work. Privates is during 2nd year and by that time, the eye institute will definitely be finished. I think Baylor is a phenomenal program. Faculty are incredibly devoted to teaching and friendly. Residents are well surpervised for a program that's very focused on resident initiative and learn by doing. And the residents are a friendly work hard play hard bunch. The residents also do very well for fellowship matching if you choose that path or feel very comfortable going into practice as a comprehensive. I personally feel it's one of the top 5 programs out there from a residency training perspective and will be ranking it very highly. Feel free to holler with any more questions about the program.