Gene_

10+ Year Member
Sep 26, 2005
Status
Attending Physician
I have noticed that recruiters love our "Unfilled Positions" thread. Please keep in mind that the job of recruiters is simply to place bodies in positions. This position may or may not be right for you. Sending your CV to a recruiter establishes a business relationship that you may ultimately regret. Just be aware. I have no personal experience, just warnings from others. Maybe others can post their experiences.

Sulfinator

Pathology
10+ Year Member
Aug 10, 2006
Status
Attending Physician
What have others warned you about, specifically?

earmuff

10+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
What have others warned you about, specifically?
That they may find you a job, and then you wouldn't be able complain about the job market anymore. All "street cred" would be lost.

Substance

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 27, 2007
Status
Attending Physician
I'm assuming that recruiters might work a bit like real estate agents. I'm guessing you have to sign up for them to represent you for x number of weeks.

The caveat to this is that if you find a job outside of the recruiter's portfolio, or you find a job through another recruiter, you are penalized for breaking contract. Am I right about this?

May 1, 2009
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
I'm assuming that recruiters might work a bit like real estate agents. I'm guessing you have to sign up for them to represent you for x number of weeks.

The caveat to this is that if you find a job outside of the recruiter's portfolio, or you find a job through another recruiter, you are penalized for breaking contract. Am I right about this?
Nice speculation but no, it doesn't work like that. You don't sign a contract, you just give them your information and then they contact you if they see a job that they think you might want. How would they penalize you anyway? You're not paying them anything. Are they going to spank you?