becoming a certified pharm tech

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chang242

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For all of you who are certified pharm techs or have taken the PTCB exam, could you briefly tell me the topics covered, length of the exam, difficulty?

I plan to study on my own by getting a cd or book (maybe from pharmacytrainer.com?). Is it very difficult to pass the exam by studying independently? How much time and effort is needed for studying? I am a full-time undergrad student right now, so any information regarding the PTCB would be greatly appreciated. I also have no pharmacy experience.

PTCB.com only supplied me with stats of previous tests, etc and did not explain test details, such as length of time given, number of questions per topic, etc.

Also, I have found various sample questions on the web and saw questions asking about medications (side-effects, what not to combine, type of drug, etc). By studying on one's own, is it sufficient to pass that portion of the exam?

Sorry if this post was too lengthy. -.-

Members don't see this ad.

Easy, if you've worked in a pharmacy for 6 months and you are familiar with all laws and calculations you should be fine.

You will have plenty of time to finish it. The test is really easy, especially the math part...it's mostly simple ratio type questions. The other 2 sections are mostly common sense, with the exception of questions like, "Where is IV Lorazepam stored?". Those types of questions you either know from experience or you don't. But i don't think there are enough questions like that to keep you from passing the test...you only need 650 out of 900 points, and the math section should be a guaranteed 300 points (or close to it).

Hope this helps

Members don't see this ad :)
can u be certified without having any classes/training formal or informal?

the ptcb website says