Being able to start a family?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Midwestern Blot

All-American
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a senior undergraduate and am applying to medical schools right now. I am considering applying for the HPSP. I haven't been able to find much information on what family life would be like in this situation. I am hoping to get married in the next couple of years and this is a big factor in my decision on whether or not to go through with it. Can anyone give me some opinions or experiences regarding this? TIA

Members don't see this ad.

Well for the 4 years of medical school it will pretty much be like any other med student with only a few 'extra' things over the 4 years. After that it's the military life.....you can be deployed, you can be sent to places you don't necessarily want to live, you can be sent to areas where your spouse can't find a job, OR there's the possibility that everything works out great.

If you want control don't sign for HPSP. If you have done all the research and HPSP is right for you and you can handle not knowing exactly what will happen in the future then go for it.

your spouse may have a hard time going through a college or graduate program. he/she can't start a business because you will get moved to another base and if he/she is an attorney for example they can't stay long enough to make partner... or their successful shop can't be sustained.

military duty changes are a system built for male military members of the 1950s where women stayed at home or worked as bank tellers or grocery clerks that could just find another job like that when you moved. it hasn't evolved to present day systems where your spouse may want to forward education or career.

Members don't see this ad :)
If youre unsure about doing HPSP, you can always go the loan repayment route later on as well. Something to think about.