This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Morfeas

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have recently passed the BSCE and studying for the NAVLE now. Here are a few things I did.
- I used zuku review
- Firstly watched the videos in HOW TO TAKE THE TEST. You have to be a good test taker and have a method that helps you go through the questions without wasting time.I believe the advice given on a couple of videos in Zuku is very helpful
- Went through the practice questions first.
- Watched all the video lectures and made my OWN NOTES from the lectures.
- As I was doing the practice questions I was reviewing my notes from the vídeos.
- I studied the Zuku review notes
- I strongly recommend "Duncan and Prasse´s Clinical Pathology" as a book to have by your side during your studying.(Many images and info seemed exactly as in BSCE)
- I recommend "Muir handbook of veterinary anesthesia"
- I recommend "Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary" (Especially for those that are not familiar with latin terminology)
- I recommend "Plumbs veterinary Drug Handbook"
- Initially, I started by opening Textbooks (like Ettinger) but after a week I abandoned this study method.
- I used a LOT the Merck Manual instead of textbooks. It is easy, exact and on my opinion, you need no more than that and the books I mentioned above.
- Used images, graphs and vídeos I found on line mainly for: Exognostic terminology (anatomical parts), Imagiology, Reproductive cycles, Surgical Instruments/Sutures
- Used notes from my university lectures
- I finished all the practice questions and the did all the questions divided by area in timed mode.
- Finally i did all the questions in timed test mode (shuffled) in blocks of 4 (240 qsts) without breaks.
- I reviewed all questions and notes at least twice.
- By the time I was tested my average score at timed shuffled mode was around 85-90%%
- I focused on the areas I was not scoring high