Jun 3, 2010
Status
Pre-Dental
I am having a tough time choosing between Buffalo and Stony Brook Dental. I was wondering if current students could post their opinions on which school is better in their opinion and why? Thanks in advance.

ItsGavinC

Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Oct 7, 2001
Arizona
Status
Dentist
I'm not going to be much help, but I'm going to voice my opinion anyway.

I have zero knowledge of Buffalo.

I went to Stony Brook for residency, but not for dental school. Dental school was in Arizona.

From an outsiders point of view, SB was a complete hole. The clinic is old and in my opinion the graduation requirements were very weak. Once again, my view is tainted based on my dental school education.

I felt the Stony Brook students were lacking in multiple areas, including pedo and endo. I think the didactic education at SB is probably very good. Lots of impressive research is being done there and those are the people that will be lecturing to you.

Oct 27, 2010
Status
I am leaning towards Buffalo. I went to Stony Brook undergrad and HATED it.
My friends at Buffalo LOVE it and I know several students who chose Buffalo over Stony and rarely the other way around.

Apr 29, 2009
Status
Pre-Dental
I am leaning towards Buffalo. I went to Stony Brook undergrad and HATED it.
My friends at Buffalo LOVE it and I know several students who chose Buffalo over Stony and rarely the other way around.
Could you elaborate why you hated it/why the students you know chose Buffalo over Stony?

I also could be joining the buffalo vs stony vs columbia decision party haha...not an NY resident...actually quite the opposite...from Boston muahaha

Oct 27, 2010
Status
Could you elaborate why you hated it/why the students you know chose Buffalo over Stony?

I also could be joining the buffalo vs stony vs columbia decision party haha...not an NY resident...actually quite the opposite...from Boston muahaha
Congrats, which school are you leaning towards?