Building Skills for Summer Research Internships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wildcatbluejay24

Reaction score
Hi! I'm currently a freshman at Hopkins studying virtually from home. I've looked into so many summer research programs/internships and am wondering how I can really build my skillset in order to get into a research program like this for one of my summers. So far, I haven't been on campus so I haven't gotten the chance to get involved in Hopkins research, and I am not able to do research near me since I'm about an hour away from the nearest university, nor did I do research during high school.

I was wondering how it's possible to build up a skillset to apply to a summer program like at the NIH or any of the other SURF programs. I haven't had exposure to professional research and my lab experience has been focused on chemistry labs for three years in high school, which obviously did not encompass any hardcore lab techniques as used in biochemistry and biology labs. How can I make a plan to be able to do this? Since I haven't been involved in professional research, I'm also not even sure what my research interest even is: I know what kind of research I want to do, but I don't know a specific issue I'm interested in.

Obviously I know it's limited to do things like that now, but what can I work on? I've been maintaining my GPA, so far my grades are good. I've gotten involved in clubs and have taken leaderships in organizations so I've been building leadership. I haven't built extensive relationships to warrant a strong letter of recommendation.

Is it just a matter of waiting to get on campus, getting into a lab, and then waiting for after sophomore year for a program? When is the best time to go to a program like this?

Would love to hear all of your thoughts on this. Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

When is the best time to go to a program like this?