Building Up EC's as a Single Parent

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

missmissouri

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have searched this topic but I had trouble finding any good threads covering this topic specifically. I am 21 years old, single mom to an almost 3 year old little boy. Studying and grades are not so much a problem for me, however having good EC's for my application are. This is my first semester at a public university in a small town in Missouri (I am a transfer student). We have a hospital with shadowing and volunteering opportunities which I plan to take advantage of. My issues are volunteering and gaining clinical experience regularly while working part-time, and finding childcare for my son outside of his regular daycare hours. Throughout the school day Mon-Fri he goes to a great preschool/daycare. The daycare closes at 5:30pm. I don't have family in town. This summer I will be in class every morning and working every afternoon. I am enrolled in 17 hours (my school's maximum) for the fall semester and I will only have one afternoon free a week, Tuesday. Would volunteering from 12:30-5pm every Tuesday for ~16 weeks be significant enough? Do medical schools take into account the time restraints on single parents when considering an applicant?

My main question is, other single parents, how do you stay active in EC's while caring for your children and working? I have tried thinking of ways that he could also be involved, and I will continue to do research on that. I think at the end of the day, when I apply to med school in 2019, I just won't have the hundreds of hours of volunteering that traditional applicants have. I have to work to help pay our bills.

Members don't see this ad.