Business to Medicine EC advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BusinesstoMedicine

Reaction score
Hello, a little bit about myself first because I think my situation is fairly unique and I am in the process of making up for a less than stellar undergraduate performance. I graduated in 2019 with a business management degree in the hopes of working for our family business. I graduated with a 2.72cgpa and a 3.41sgpa with a great upward trend in my last year and a half. The gpa’s are fairly low because of one semester in which I screwed up the withdraw process and ended up with a couple F’s. I finished strong and had 4.0 my last 3 semesters in undergrad. I had no extracurriculars aside from coming home and working at the family business over breaks and summers because at this time that was all I had ever considered doing for a career. After graduating I started working full time and not long after that my family including my dad and aunts decided they wanted to sell the business and retire as they had received a great offer. Obviously, this put my brothers and I in an awkward position, but we were very happy for them to do so well on their life’s work. I had saved some money and after some long reflection I decided to pursue a passion with this newfound freedom. I had always taken interest in medicine and having seen some of my friends go through the process I feel like I had a good understanding of what it takes. Now I want to apply to a DO program as I hear they are more open to reinvention. I applied to a post-bacc program at a local 4-year college and now I am 44 credits into the program and have a 4.0 so far and I believe I will end up doing around 30 more credits as I had to finish every prereq.
My current stats for DO school:
3.05cgpa
3.79sgpa