Calculus requirements??

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by DoctorSaab, Sep 28, 2002.

1. DoctorSaab

DoctorSaab Senior Member

Medical Student
    Hello,

I am a freshman right now in college. My major is Biology, and also doing Pre-Med/Pre-Dentistry.

My advisor told me I needed only 1 semester of calc. It's called Calc 211 here. Anyway, I'm taking that right now. However, after taking this class, I will not be able to take any more calculus because if I wanted to take more, I would have had to first take Calc 229. And to the Math departments rules, a person cannot take Calc 211 and 229, and get a credit from each. The calc class after 229 is Calc 230. I won't be able to take Calc 230, because I haven't taken Calc 229, and much of the principles come from Calc 229 rather than 211. Those principles will be needed to succeed in Calc 230.

I have been told by the Math Department that if i want to take Calc 229, then I will need to withdraw my credit for 211, and then take 229. In this manner, I will lose a semester, and all that time late at night that i spent doing all that homework and sacrificed my sleep!

So I think I got screwed. Anyway, what do you guys think? Do you think a semester of Calc, and a semester of Statistics would be enough to meet Pre-Med/Pre-Dentistry requirements?

Thanks.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Street Philosopher

I'm under the quarter system, so I don't know how well it would fit with the semester system. I've found that 2 quarters of calc and 1 quarter of stats met most if not all the requirements. for reference, 3 quarters = 2 semesters. and not all schools required math, but I think it is pretty much expected that you take it. talking to your premed advisor might be the best course of action.

4. phil413ru

phil413ru Senior Member

Medical Student