Can a pharmacist be color-blind?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Waffleguy

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I work as a Pharmacy technician at a local, non-chain pharmacy. I mentioned to one of the other techs that I happen to be color blind in a certain spectrum of colors. SHe immediately told me that I could not be a pharmacist because of this. She said that it would be unsafe, and that i would not accurately be able to verify the color of the talbets/capsules, etc.

Does anyone know if there is a law or professional requirement saying that you must not be color-blind? Will this keep me from being a pharmacist? Do they test for color blindness in pharmacy school or before you get your license?

Members don't see this ad.

I work as a Pharmacy technician at a local, non-chain pharmacy. I mentioned to one of the other techs that I happen to be color blind in a certain spectrum of colors. SHe immediately told me that I could not be a pharmacist because of this. She said that it would be unsafe, and that i would not accurately be able to verify the color of the talbets/capsules, etc.

Does anyone know if there is a law or professional requirement saying that you must not be color-blind? Will this keep me from being a pharmacist? Do they test for color blindness in pharmacy school or before you get your license?

I believe there is already a thread about this.

Why are you asking a tech? Don't believe everything they say. Pills have all those names, dosage, numbers, etc on them for a reason. If your worried ask a pharmacist. There are a lot of people who have minor colorblindness.

Wouldn't that be discrimination? No they do not test you for color-blindness. You might have to be a little more careful for distinguishing pills, but there are other ways to do it besides just color if that ever came up.

Members don't see this ad :)