Can I make it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

caitlynn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

I was wondering if you guys could help give me some insights with my situation. I'm a sophomore at UCI and am doing horribly. My current GPA is about 2.3. That's cuz I really thought I wasn't going to stay at UCI, let alone be a doctor, so I didn't care at all the first year. I passed all my classes with C's and some b's.

My current plan is to study for mcat this summer and take it somtime near the end of this year and again before applications. I'm currently volunteering and am aiming for at least 250 hours before summer ends. I plan to do reserach next fall year and be committed to it all year round.

I'm doing my best to increase my GPA. But it doesn't look like i can get anywhere near 4.0 by the time I apply. I really, really do not want to take a year off. I wish to go straight to med school from UCI. I have asked many people what I should do, and I would love to hear more opinions. Please let me know if I have any chance whatsoever of getting into med school.

Thanks, Caitlyn

Members don't see this ad.

That's cuz I really thought I wasn't going to stay at UCI, let alone be a doctor, so I didn't care at all the first year.

What happened that caused you to go from "I don't care" to "I really really want to be a doctor now and can't take a year off"?

You'll need straight 4.0 from hear until you apply and a mid-to-high-30s MCAT. Best of luck.

I was in a similar situation before except that I jumped all around different majors before I settled down with something I like, PHS.