Can someone tell me why plastic surgery is so competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bluedevski1992

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
It seems as if it is similar to ENT and ortho in compensation, lifestyle, and in that they are all surgical subspecialties. Why is it the hardest residency to match?

Serious question. I am naive and curious. I also understand ENT and ortho are competitive.

Members don't see this ad.

Money and boobs.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
money-mayweather-o.gif

Reactions: 4 users
It seems as if it is similar to ENT and ortho in compensation, lifestyle, and in that they are all surgical subspecialties. Why is it the hardest residency to match?

Serious question. I am naive and curious. I also understand ENT and ortho are competitive.

Disclaimer: I'm a second year medical student.

Cosmetic procedures are lucrative, because you can control the patient base. It's difficult to argue that a nosejob is necessary for health under many circumstances. You can charge cash, you can have rich patients, and CMS/government have more difficult controlling your purse strings.

I believe at least some plastics have call, but if you were running a purely cosmetic practice you might be able to avoid this (talking out of my ass here). I can't imagine anyone going "It's 2am and this woman needs a face-lift STAT!!!"

My understanding is that dermatology has many of these same benefits, provided you're practicing cosmetics. The residency for derm. seems less brutal.

@DermViser would be able to speak to this better than I can though, if interested.

Reactions: 1 users
It's so competitive because there are so few residencies and the potential pay is good. That's why any specialty is competitive. Once the pay/outlook starts to slip or the number of residencies starts to increase the competition dissipates (see radiology).

Reactions: 3 users