can you major in chemistry and go to pharmacy graduate school??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jungjh9001

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
can you major in chemisty as an undergraduate and go to pharmacy graduate school??
if I want to be a pharmacist, is it better to go to the school that has
pre-pharm program??
would it be harder for me to admitted to pharmacy graduate schools if I major in chemistry instead of going to pre-pharmacy school??

Members don't see this ad.

I got a degree in Chemistry, took a year off, and just got accepted to pharmacy school somewhere else.

I am in the same boat here. I have a b.s. in chemistry, a year off, and got accepted to both of the schools that applied to!! Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
can you major in chemisty as an undergraduate and go to pharmacy graduate school??
pre-pharm program??
would it be harder for me to admitted to pharmacy graduate schools if I major in chemistry instead of going to pre-pharmacy school??

Either I don't understand your question correctly or you are asking something rather odd. Pre-pharmacy is not an actual major = you can't graduate from college and have a Bachelor of Science in Pre-pharmacy. What do you become then Pre-pharmacist ?

When people say I did pre-pharmacy in college it's a fancy way of saying I majored in nothing and took my basic sciency pre-reqs.

Major in Chemistry - that's one of the most, if not most challenging majors and it will provide you with the background you need to further apply to pharmacy school. Also you ever decided during your years of college that phamacy is not for you you'll have an actual degree to fall on - a degree in chemistry and can work in the research lab or do all kinds of stuff, whereas with the pre-pharmacy - well you can't really do much as a pre-pharmacist. :):p