Can you work during school???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mellow_yellow

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been reading how much time attending dental school requires and I was just wondering if its possible to work part-time (maybe 10-20 hours per week). I will be graduating as a nurse next year (from an acc. BSN program), but I truly want to be a dentist someday.

I know that after gaining some experience as a nurse, I could work per diem or do agency work part-time. To current/former dental students, I was wondering if its possible to work a shift or two on the weekends while in dental school. Dental school is expensive and I figured working would help me pay for the tuition (my fiance is a nurse and could take care of living expenses).

Any replies would be appreciated. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

You could find the time for a 12 hour shift on the weekend. But you probably won't want to.

I worked in the medical field prior to D-school, and I now work half days every saturday, and work spring breaks, christmas breaks, things like that as an adjunct to the loans; it works out pretty good, but it does get pretty tiring. It is definitely doable though, I am about to enter my third year and I have been doing this since just before school started.

Members don't see this ad :)
i plan on tutoring when im in dschool. i work an additional 6 hrs/week tutoring making between $250-$300/week. some nice change if u ask me.. jb!:)

I worked in the medical field prior to D-school, and I now work half days every saturday, and work spring breaks, christmas breaks, things like that as an adjunct to the loans; it works out pretty good, but it does get pretty tiring. It is definitely doable though, I am about to enter my third year and I have been doing this since just before school started.

Thanks for replying.

Are there any summer breaks in d-school?