Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Can you work during school???

Discussion in 'Dental' started by mellow_yellow, Apr 29, 2007.

1. mellow_yellow

mellow_yellow Junior Member

Pre-Dental
    I have been reading how much time attending dental school requires and I was just wondering if its possible to work part-time (maybe 10-20 hours per week). I will be graduating as a nurse next year (from an acc. BSN program), but I truly want to be a dentist someday.

I know that after gaining some experience as a nurse, I could work per diem or do agency work part-time. To current/former dental students, I was wondering if its possible to work a shift or two on the weekends while in dental school. Dental school is expensive and I figured working would help me pay for the tuition (my fiance is a nurse and could take care of living expenses).

Any replies would be appreciated. Thank you.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. 12YearOldKid

Dentist
    You could find the time for a 12 hour shift on the weekend. But you probably won't want to.

4. MSDMD

MSDMD MSDMD

Dental Student
    I worked in the medical field prior to D-school, and I now work half days every saturday, and work spring breaks, christmas breaks, things like that as an adjunct to the loans; it works out pretty good, but it does get pretty tiring. It is definitely doable though, I am about to enter my third year and I have been doing this since just before school started.

5. jackbauer!

jackbauer! Guest

Dental Student
    i plan on tutoring when im in dschool. i work an additional 6 hrs/week tutoring making between $250-$300/week. some nice change if u ask me.. jb!:)

6. mellow_yellow

Pre-Dental
    Thanks for replying.

Are there any summer breaks in d-school?

7. MSDMD

MSDMD MSDMD

Dental Student