Cancer Pain Fellowships?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rocuronium18

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a new-in-practice pain physician, having recently completed fellowship. I'm in an academic setting, but our center is looking for more experience with cancer pain management, and I didn't receive a ton of specific cancer pain management during fellowship. I'm wondering if you have any recommendations for specific cancer pain fellowships, or centers with really good exposure to cancer pain management? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a new-in-practice pain physician, having recently completed fellowship. I'm in an academic setting, but our center is looking for more experience with cancer pain management, and I didn't receive a ton of specific cancer pain management during fellowship. I'm wondering if you have any recommendations for specific cancer pain fellowships, or centers with really good exposure to cancer pain management? Thanks in advance!

MD Anderson, I hear has plenty of malignant pain exposure. Also, you can consider getting to know your Onc colleagues, make some friends, and see if referrals come your way.
Generally I agree with willabeast, cancer pain referrals to pain docs are sparse.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Depends on the area of the country you are in, but start by looking at the cancer pain research consortium meetings that Lisa Stearns in Arizona puts on or the MSK cancer pain meeting Amit Gulati has in NYC.

The key thing is building relationships and comfort with the referral sources. Cancer pain is a different beast but it's not necessarily lucrative/lifestyle friendly.

Reactions: 1 user
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the place to go for exactly this. Contact Amitabh Gulati MD — the guy is brilliant.

Reactions: 1 users