Cancer Pain Fellowships?

Rocuronium18

2+ Year Member
Oct 6, 2016
I am a new-in-practice pain physician, having recently completed fellowship. I'm in an academic setting, but our center is looking for more experience with cancer pain management, and I didn't receive a ton of specific cancer pain management during fellowship. I'm wondering if you have any recommendations for specific cancer pain fellowships, or centers with really good exposure to cancer pain management? Thanks in advance!

Extralong

7+ Year Member
Oct 17, 2011
I sleep with the fishes
  1. Resident [Any Field]
  2. Attending Physician
I am a new-in-practice pain physician, having recently completed fellowship. I'm in an academic setting, but our center is looking for more experience with cancer pain management, and I didn't receive a ton of specific cancer pain management during fellowship. I'm wondering if you have any recommendations for specific cancer pain fellowships, or centers with really good exposure to cancer pain management? Thanks in advance!

MD Anderson, I hear has plenty of malignant pain exposure. Also, you can consider getting to know your Onc colleagues, make some friends, and see if referrals come your way.
Generally I agree with willabeast, cancer pain referrals to pain docs are sparse.

Last edited:
About the Ads

Orin

10+ Year Member
Jul 27, 2009
Depends on the area of the country you are in, but start by looking at the cancer pain research consortium meetings that Lisa Stearns in Arizona puts on or the MSK cancer pain meeting Amit Gulati has in NYC.

The key thing is building relationships and comfort with the referral sources. Cancer pain is a different beast but it's not necessarily lucrative/lifestyle friendly.

Reactions: 1 user

cowboydoc

5+ Year Member
Jan 2, 2016
  1. Attending Physician
I Second MD Anderson. A mentor did fellowship there and is part of surg onc dept. at university hospital.