Cannot get back into residency...need help/ideas please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

So much judgement without knowing the whole story...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am an American Medical School graduate (2005) who started an anesthesiology residency but was unable to complete it due to personal tragedies I completed my intern year as well as a year and 8 mo of Anesthesiology training, but took leave of absence to care for family in 2008. I am being told by the programs (all specialities) that if you are more than 5 years out from med school graduation they will not consider the application (ERAS). I was told that some programs do NOT use ERAS and that you apply to them individually. I believe I might get more accomplished if I could talk to and relate to the programs and their directors, but this is basically impossible if you apply through ERAS. I am trying to find residency programs that would consider my application. How do I find a current list of programs matching without ERAS? I was told an advanced search on ama-assn.org could find them, but so far I have been unsuccessful Also, if anyone has any other ideas on how to approach my situation, I would welcome any suggestions. Please help me, I haven't practiced since 2010 and cannot seem to break back into medicine.
Thank you

What have you done since 2008? What fields are you trying to get into? Have you talked with your prior residency program as to the possibility of coming back at all even after all this time? Would your old PD be able to give you a good letter?